Media Release: New Executive Director and Chair at Per Capita

September 5, 2016

Monday 5 SEPTEMBER 2016

Media Release: Executive Director & Chair Positions

Per Capita today announces that Emma Dawson has been appointed Executive Director.

Emma comes to us with extensive public policy, academic and private sector experience, having served as a senior adviser in government, and in leadership roles at the University of Melbourne and Telstra.  “We’re excited by Emma joining Per Capita and her capacity to lead the think tank through the next stage of its development,” said Dr Joshua Funder, outgoing Chair of Per Capita.

“I’m delighted to lead the next decade of Per Capita’s contribution to Australian progressive policy.  With a clear focus on the social and economic challenges of inequality, I look forward to Per Capita continuing to generate the new ideas necessary for Australia’s future,” said Dawson.

David Hetherington has decided to step down as Per Capita’s founding Executive Director. After a decade of leading the organisation, David wishes to focus on his core interests in economics and inequality and will continue to contribute to Per Capita’s research program as a Senior Fellow. “David has brought to Per Capita a rare combination of leadership, integrity and insight.  He has made a major impact on Per Capita and Australian progressive policy” said Funder.

“It’s been a privilege to work alongside extraordinary people to build Per Capita into one of Australia’s leading progressive think tanks, and I’m looking forward to ongoing involvement in this shared success in a new capacity” said Hetherington.

In further news, we also announce that our Chair, Dr Joshua Funder, will step down on 1 October after five years in the role and will remain as a Board Director.  Funder commented, “I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to lead the Per Capita Board through an exciting period of growth and impact.  I thank my Board colleagues and the executive team for their shared values, hard work and commitment, and look forward to continuing my involvement as a non-executive Director.”

Our new Chair will be Helen Conway who joined the Board in 2015.  Helen is currently Deputy Chair of AON Superannuation and a non-Executive Director of  She was formerly Director of the Workplace Gender Equality Agency and General Counsel at Caltex and NRMA.

“I look forward to working with my Board colleagues and the Per Capita staff to build on the excellent work that’s been done to establish Per Capita as a strong and credible voice in Australian public policy”, said Conway.

For media comment, please contact:

David Hetherington, 0413 863 068
Emma Dawson, 0400 372 738
Joshua Funder, 0408 775 566
Helen Conway, 0412 828 018